Winners of the 2016 ASTW Awards of Excellence

We are proud to announce the winners of the ASTW Awards for Excellence 2016

Travel Writer of the Year – Sponsored by South Africa Tourism
WINNER – John Borthwick
Where the Cold War Thawed – The Weekend Australian
Burmese Daze – Traveller – Fairfax Media
In the Wake of Cape Crusaders – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Other Finalists
Kerry van der Jagt
Where to Sing and Swim with Wild Dolphins – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Grin and Bear It – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Myanmar: Floating on a wave of hope for a new beginning – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Craig Tansley
Coming Up Trumps – Traveller – Fairfax Media
The Last Great Ski Town – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Maldives Luxury Adventure on a Budget – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Photographer of the Year – Sponsored by Tourism Authority of Thailand
WINNER – Dan Avila
Alone in the Universe –
Love on the Bosphorus – Vacations & Travel magazine
Heaven    –

Other Finalists
Jocelyn Pride – Three Pillars of Travel: Protect/Respect/Reflect
Mark Daffey – Antiquity/Harmony/Destiny

Best Story about the AGM Host Destination  – Sponsored by Voyages Indigenous Tourism
WINNER – Marie Barbieri
The Red Beating Heart – Australia & New Zealand magazine

Other Finalists
Justine Costigan – Written in the Stars – Jetstar magazine
Angela Saurine – The Heart of the Rock – Best Weekend – News Ltd

Best Family Travel Story – Sponsored by Signature Media
WINNER – Mark Daffey
Are We There Yet? – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Other Finalists
Belinda Jackson    – Dolphin Island Fiji: Family Experience for a chosen few- Traveller – Fairfax Media
Helen Hayes – Salzburg – A Favourite Thing – Holidays with Kids magazine
Sheriden Rhodes – Island Life Revisited    – Five Star Kids Magazine

Best Travel Blog – Sponsored by TFE Hotels
WINNER – Rene Young
Together We Roam

Other Finalists
Jayne Gorman – Girl Tweets World
Aleney de Winter – Boy Eats World

Best Travel Broadcaster – Sponsored by Tourism and Events Queensland
WINNER – Greg Grainger – Greg Grainger TV

Other Finalists
Ben Groundwater – Beauty and the Backpacker travel web series – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Quentin Long – Mornings/Today Extra – Channel 9

Best Australian Story – Sponsored by Tourism Australia
WINNER – Kerry Van Der Jagt
Where to swim and sing with dolphins – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Other Finalists
Andrew Bain – Cape Crusaders – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Celeste Mitchell – Girls Just Wanna Have 4WD Fun – Escape – News Ltd

Best Food Story – Sponsored by Outrigger Hotels & Resorts
WINNER – Carla Grossetti
A Taste of History – Cuisine magazine

Other Finalists
Sue Wallace – Summer in Aspen – Delicious
Sue Gough Henly – Dining for the Greater Good – Australian Traveller magazine

Best Responsible Tourism story – Intrepid Travel
WINNER – Jocelyn Pride
Alaska Untouched – Wellbeing

Other Finalists
Kerry van der Jagt – Monaco’s Prince Albert is on a Mission to protect the environment – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Andrew Bain – Nature’s treasure trove – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Best Adventure Story – G Adventures
WINNER – Lee Atkinson
Driving Across the Simpson Desert – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Other Finalists
Andrew Bain – Back to Peak Performance – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Catherine Marshall – Drums of the Jungle God – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Roderick Eime – Southern Exposure – MINDFOOD magazine

Best Cruise Story – Sponsored by Hawaii Tourism Oceania
WINNER – Craig Tansley
Maldives Luxury Adventure – Traveller – Fairfax Media

John Borthwick – Burmese Daze – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Jocelyn Pride – It’s (not) all Akademik – International Traveller magazine

Best Story Over 1000 words – Sponsored by AccorHotels
WINNER – John Borthwick
Where the Cold War Thawed – Weekend Australian

Other Finalists
Craig Tansley – Where Cross Country Skiing is a Religion – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Marian McGuinness – Scents and Sensibility – Weekend Australian

Best Story Under 1000 words – Sponsored by Macau Government Tourist Office
WINNER – Tim Richards
A Boy and A Coin – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Other Finalists
Rob McFarland – Cowboy in Training – Escape – News Ltd
Kerry van der Jagt – In Wake of Van Gogh – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Best Tourism and Travel Trade Story
WINNER – Lee Mylne
Traversing the Long, Open Road – Travel Bulletin

Other Finalists
Kristine Madden – The Wheel of Fortune – Travel Bulletin
Sheriden Rhodes – Well, well, well – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Communicator or Communications Team of the Year – Sponsored by Travmedia
WINNER – Klick Communications

Other Finalists
Karena Noble

PR Campaign of the Year – Sponsored by Travmedia
WINNER – Karena Noble
Launch of Field of Light Uluru

Other Finalists
Kim McKay – Positively Wellington Tourism
Natalie Schofield – Westin – World Sleep Day

Best Tourism Organisation or Travel Product – Sponsored by ZOIK
WINNER – Caroline Davidson
Rocky Mountain International – The Real America

Other Finalists
Karena Noble – Ayers Rock Resort Indigenous Tourism
Leigh Maloney – The Little Nell