Kara Murphy - Best Travel Photo 2017

Congratulations to
The 2017 ASTW Awards
For Excellence Winners

Image by Kara Murphy – 2017 ASTW Best Travel Photo winner

Spa Pool - Dan Avila - 2017 ASTW photographer of the year

How you can benefit from
being an ASTW member

Image by Dan Avila – 2017 ASTW Photographer of the Year​

Mark Daffey – Mirror Image – Lonely Planet Asia

Sunshine Coast Tourism
hosted the 2017 ASTW
Convention and
Awards for Excellence

Image by Mark Daffey – Finalist 2017 ASTW Photographer of the Year

The Australian Society of Travel Writers Incorporated (ASTW) is the most highly respected travel media body in Australia.  Founded in 1975 and incorporated in 2011, it is a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to promoting ethical and honest travel, and the unbiased reporting of it.

Latest News

Kris Madden

Vale - Kris Madden

It is with the deepest sadness The Australian Society of Travel…

Upcoming Events

Featured Member

Mark Daffey
Snapshot: Mark Daffey is an Australian freelance travel writer and photographer whose work has appeared in newspapers and magazines in Australia, New Zealand, UK, USA, Ireland, South Africa, Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, India and extensively across the Middle East. He currently contributes to the weekend newspaper travel liftouts Escape (News Corp) and Traveller (Fairfax), as well as Get Lost, Let’s Travel, Travel Ideas (Flight Centre), Good Weekend, Gourmet Traveller, International Traveller, Vacations + Travel, Luxury Travel, Australian Geographic Outdoor, Wild, Great Walks, Action Asia, Lonely Planet (Asia), Get Up & Go, Holidays For Couples, Horizons, Signature Travel & Lifestyle, Holidays With Kids, BNE, Cruise Passenger and in-flight magazines such as Jetstar, Etihad, OUTthere (Air North), Oryx (Qatar Airways) and Paradise (Air Niugini). Daffey edited the Emirates Airline in-flight magazines in Dubai for over four years and his photos have been published in more than 50 countries via the Getty Images, Alamy, Lonely Planet Images and Zefa Pictures photo libraries. He resumed freelancing in February 2014 and currently serves as a committee member with the Australian Society of Travel Writers, where he won the Best Family Travel Story category in the 2016 ASTW Awards. He was also a finalist in the ASTW Photographer of the Year Award category 2016 and 2015, and a finalist in the Best Travel Writer category for the 2016 AFTA National Travel Industry Awards.

Featured Sponsor

Visit Sunshine Coast

Thank you to the Sunshine Coast for hosting our 2017 ASTW Convention, Awards for Excellence Gala Dinner and AGM!

Our Partners