Finalists 2016 ASTW Travel Awards of Excellence

Travel Writer of the Year – Sponsored by South Africa Tourism

Craig Tansley
Coming Up Trumps – Traveller – Fairfax Media
The Last Great Ski Town – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Maldives Luxury Adventure on a Budget – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Kerry van der Jagt
Where to Sing and Swim with Wild Dolphins – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Grin and Bear It – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Myanmar: Floating on a wave of hope for a new beginning – Traveller – Fairfax Media

John Borthwick
Where the Cold War Thawed – The Weekend Australian
Burmese Daze – Traveller – Fairfax Media
In the Wake of Cape Crusaders– Traveller – Fairfax Media

Photographer of the Year – Sponsored by Tourism Authority of Thailand
Dan Avila – Alone in the Universe/Love on the Bosphorus/Heaven
Jocelyn Pride – Three Pillars of Travel: Protect/Respect/Reflect
Mark Daffey – Antiquity/Harmony/Destiny

Best Story about the AGM Host Destination – Sponsored by Voyages Indigenous Tourism
Justine Costigan – Written in the Stars – Jetstar magazine
Angela Saurine – The Heart of the Rock – Best Weekend – News Ltd
Marie Barbieri – The Red Beating HeartAustralia & New Zealand magazine

Best Family Travel Story – Sponsored by Signature Media
Belinda Jackson – Dolphin Island Fiji: Family Experience for a chosen few – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Helen Hayes – Salzburg – A Favourite Thing – Holidays with Kids magazine
Sheriden Rhodes – Island Life Revisited – Five Star Kids Magazine
Mark Daffey –Are We There Yet? – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Best Travel Blog – Sponsored by TFE Hotels
Girl Tweets World – Jayne Gorman
Boy Eats World – Aleney de Winter
Rene Young – Together We Roam

Best Travel Broadcaster – Sponsored by Tourism and Events Queensland
Ben Groundwater – Beauty and the Backpacker travel web series – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Quentin Long – Mornings/Today Extra – Channel 9
Greg Grainger – Greg Grainger TV

Best Australian Story – Sponsored by Tourism Australia
Kerry van der Jagt – Where to swim and sing with dolphins – Traveller – Fairfax Medi
Andrew Bain – Cape Crusaders – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Celeste Mitchell – Girls Just Wanna Have 4WD Fun – Escape – News Ltd

Best Food Story – Sponsored by Outrigger Hotels & Resorts
Sue Wallace – Summer in Aspen – Delicious
Sue Gough Henly – Dining for the Greater Good – Australian Traveller magazine
Carla GrossettiA Taste of HistoryCuisine magazine

Best Responsible Tourism story – Sponsored by Intrepid Travel
Kerry van der Jagt – Monaco’s Prince Albert is on a Mission to protect the environment – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Andrew Bain – Nature’s treasure trove – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Jocelyn Pride – Alaska Untouched – Wellbeing

Best Adventure Story – Sponsored by G Adventures
Andrew Bain – Back to Peak Performance – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Catherine Marshall – Drums of the Jungle God – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Roderick Eime – Southern Exposure – MINDFOOD magazine
Lee Atkinson – Driving Across the Simpson Desert – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Best Cruise Story – Sponsored by Hawaii Tourism Oceania
John Borthwick – Burmese Daze – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Jocelyn Pride – It’s (not) all Akademik – International Traveller magazine
Craig Tansley – Maldives Luxury Adventure – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Best International Story Over 1000 words – Sponsored by AccorHotels
Craig Tansley – Where Cross Country Skiing is a Religion – Traveller – Fairfax Media
John Borthwick – Where the Cold War Thawed – Weekend Australian
Marian McGuinness – Scents and Sensibility – Weekend Australian

Best International Story Under 1000 words – Sponsored by Macau Government Tourist Office
Rob McFarland – Cowboy in Training – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Kerry van der Jagt – In Wake of Van Gogh – Traveller – Fairfax Media
Tim Richards – A Boy and A Coin – Traveller – Fairfax Media

Best Tourism and Travel Trade Story
Kristine Madden – The Wheel of Fortune – Travel Bulletin
Lee Mylne – Traversing the Long, Open Road – Travel Bulletin
Sheriden Rhodes – Well, well, well – Traveller – Fairfax Media


Communicator or Communications Team of the Year – Sponsored by Travmedia
Klick Communications
Karena Noble

PR Campaign of the Year – Sponsored by Travmedia
Kim McKay – Positively Wellington Tourism
Karena Noble – Launch of Field of Light Uluru
Natalie Schofield – Westin – World Sleep Day

Best Tourism Organisation or Travel Product – Sponsored by ZOIK
Caroline Davidson – Rocky Mountain International
Karena Noble – Ayers Rock Resort Indigenous Tourism
Leigh Maloney – The Little Nell