astw hktb

Budding Travel Writers Last Chance to Enter Awards

THERE are two weeks remaining for budding travel writers to enter articles for the inaugural Hong Kong Tourism Board (HKTB) and the Australian Society of Travel Writers (ASTW) “Rising Star” award, with the winner to be announced on 30 November, 2018.

The award is open to writers and digital influencers who had their first paid travel story published in the past two years and who are not existing ASTW members. The award submission must be a travel related article under 1,000 words published between 31 October, 2016 and 31 October, 2018; featured in a print publication with a minimum circulation of 20,000 or in an online publication with a minimum of 10,000 unique visitors per month.

The winner will receive a trip to Hong Kong, including: return economy airfares; four nights’ accommodation; return Airport Express Line voucher; MTR pass with HK$200 credit; dinner at Ho Lee Fook; foodie tour of Sham Shui Po; tour of Tai Kwun – Hong Kong’s new centre for Heritage and Arts; and a traditional junk boat ride to view the nightly light and sound show – A Symphony of Lights. The winner’s subsequent Hong Kong story will also be published by and will be considered for Traveller’s print edition in the Sydney Morning Herald and The Age.

The winner will also receive a one-year “Rising Star” membership to the ASTW valued at AU$400 and will be invited to attend an ASTW Christmas lunch where they will be presented with their award. 


Entries are open from 1 August, 2018 to 31 October, 2018 via

The winner will be announced on 30 November, 2018 on; and will also be notified via phone. 

For more information on the award visit or for information about Hong Kong, visit

For more information, contact:
Natalie Brown, HKTB PR Manager – 02 8262 6810
Angela Thompson, ASTW PR representative – 368 018

Travel Writers Historic Collaboration

A collaboration between the Australian Society of Travel Writers (ASTW), the Society of American Travel Writers (SATW) and the British Guild of Travel Writers (BGTW) has been formalised at the Society of American Travel Writers’ 2018 convention in Barbados.

Representatives from all three bodies were at the Hilton Barbados Resort to formalise the exciting new initiative in an agreement that will strengthen their ties and create an international partnership to benefit all members.

The societies have agreed to start the collaborative process by appointing three representatives to oversee it: Barbara Ramsay Orr and Danielle Lancaster as the outgoing Presidents of the SATW and ASTW along with Alastair McKenzie, the soon to be outgoing Chair of the BGTW.

Ms Lancaster flew to the convention with Delta Airlines to be a part of this ground-breaking move and commented on how extremely rewarding it was to meet with her esteemed colleagues and see their idea become a reality, after months of discussion.

She added, “I was honoured to be a part of this project, which would not have been possible without the generous support of TravMedia and Delta Airlines, who enabled me to attend the event on behalf of the ASTW committee.

“The power and reach of each of the organisations can be increased exponentially through this international partnering.”

Ms Ramsay Orr said, “We have much to share and to learn but together we also can own the global space to advocate for journalists on our shared travel and journalism issues.”

Mr McKenzie has been delighted with the overwhelming support he has encountered for this initiative, which for the most part has been “why haven’t we done this before?”

He has also been encouraged by how quickly the co-operation has moved forward. SATW and ASTW members have already been made part of the judging panel for the BGTW members awards, the Presidents of each organisation have already been made honorary members of the others and members of all three organisations are already talking together and advising each other as a community on the combined Facebook group.

Signing of the official collaboration between the ASTW, SATW and BGTW in Barbados on September 24, 2018.

Pictured are Alastair McKenzie outgoing chair of the BGTW, Barbara Ramsey Orr ex-president SATW, David Swanson the new president of the SATW and Danielle Lancaster ex-president ASTW.